Mercy Medical Center Sioux City

Affordable Health Insurance is Here

The Law
The Affordable Care Act (ACA), which took effect on January 1, 2014, requires everyone legally living in the U.S. to have health insurance. It also gives millions of individuals with too little or no insurance, access to health plans at different cost levels. The law also provides financial assistance to those who qualify based on family size and income. Beginning November 15, 2014, you will be able to shop for plans online.

What Will the Plans Cover?
Coverage will include doctor visits, hospital stays, wellness care, prescriptions, emergency services, maternal and newborn care, pediatric care, and more. In fact, Ten Essential Health Benefits must be covered in every plan and certain Preventive Care services will be provided at no additional cost to patients. Also, people cannot be turned away due to pre-existing conditions, as has been the case in the past.

Sign Up Begins November 15, 2014
If you do not have health insurance, you are required to sign up during open enrollment, from November 15, 2014 through February 15, 2015. You can shop for plans by phone, through a broker, at on-site enrollment locations, or at the online Health Insurance Marketplace, where you can easily compare benefits and costs. If you choose not to enroll for insurance, the law states that you will face tax penalties.

All 2014 Marketplace health plans will come up for renewal in 2015. If you purchased coverage in 2014, your insurance company will send you information about updated premiums and benefits. If you are satisfied with your current plan and want to keep it – and your income and household size have not changed – you don’t need to do anything. The Marketplace will automatically re-enroll you in that same coverage for 2015.


The Marketplace

Every Need. Every Budget.

The Marketplace
The Health Insurance Marketplace is available online, by phone, or through an approved insurance broker, and it’s designed to make buying health coverage easier by comparing plans side by side, in simple language and with no fine print. You will be able to choose between four levels of health plans – Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze – from a variety of approved insurance providers, and each will have different amounts of coverage and different monthly premiums. Only one simple application will be required.


Financial Assistance
In 2014, a surprisingly large number of people qualified for financial help, and this should also be the case in 2015. For example, an individual earning up to $45,900 a year, or a family of four earning up to $94,200 a year, will qualify for a reduction of their monthly premiums, or a tax credit at the end of the year. Go to for a calculator that will help you determine how much assistance may be available to you. Once you apply at the Marketplace, you will find out the exact amount.


Why Choose Us?
When you compare plans, you'll be able to see what hospitals are included in each one. Make sure you choose a plan that includes Mercy Oakland so you'll always have the latest treatment options, leading-edge technology, an physicians from some of the nation's finest medical schools. Because when you treat the region's most critical patients, you're better at treating everything.