Mercy Medical Center Sioux City
Mercy Board of Directors Welcomes Four New Members
Start Date
Mercy Medical Center—Sioux City has announced that Steven Joyce, M.D., Annette Hamilton, Douglas J. Boden and Sr. Michon Rozmajzl, Ph.D. have joined the ministry organization’s board of directors.

Dr. Steven Joyce is a physician with Mercy Internal Medicine and Pediatrics. The Siouxland native was recently recognized by the American College of Physicians (ACP) as one if its two Iowa ACP laureates for his focus on excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine. Dr. Joyce is a graduate of the University of Iowa and is also in the top 1-2% of internists in the nation for his internal medicine recertification. He is board certified in Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and is also a certified Interpreter of Electrocardiograms.

Annette Hamilton is a resident of South Sioux City, Nebraska and serves as Chief Operating Officer and Vice President of Ho-Chunk, Inc. in Winnebago, Nebraska. Ms. Hamilton earned her undergraduate degree from Washburn University and her M.B.A. from the University of Minnesota. She served in a number of leadership roles at Gateway, Inc. from 1996 to 2001 when she joined Ho-Chunk, Inc. as Chief Financial Officer.

Douglas J. Boden is a lifelong resident of Sioux City and is employed as President of Aalfs Manufacturing, Inc. of Sioux City. Before joining Aalfs Manufacturing in 1993, Boden served in a number of managerial roles at the AC Rochester Division of General Motors plant in Sioux City. He is a graduate of Iowa State University and is active in a number of civic organizations including the Tax Research Conference and the Siouxland Purchasing Association.

Sr. Michon Rozmajzl, Ph.D. resides in Omaha, Nebraska and is a member of the Institute of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas. Sr. Michon earned her bachelor’s degree from the College of St. Mary in Omaha and holds master’s and doctorate degrees from the University of Michigan. She has served on the faculty of a number of colleges and universities including Boise State University, Converse College, University of Cincinnati, College of St. Mary and the University of Michigan.

Milt Avery will serve as Chairman of the Mercy Board of Directors in 2012. Other officers include: Larry T. Volz, M.D., Vice-President, Robert Houlihan, Treasurer and Sr. Maurita E. Soukup, Secretary.

Hold over members include: Patrick Beck, M.D., Sr. Mary Corita Heid, Barbara Orzechowski, Robert Peebles, David Smetter, and David Vellinga.

The board provides leadership to Mercy Medical Center—Sioux City, Baum Harmon Mercy Hospital in Primghar, Iowa, Oakland Mercy Hospital in Oakland, Nebraska, and Mercy Medical Services, which directs 37 owned or managed family practice and specialty clinics and two managed hospitals in western Iowa and eastern Nebraska.

For more information, contact:
Jim Wharton, Vice President of Marketing and Business Development (712) 279-2732
Dianne Krier, Mercy Marketing and Communications Coordinator (712) 279-5682