Mercy Medical Center Sioux City

Nationally Recognized Care


Mercy Medical Center-Sioux City achieved HealthGrade's highest ranking - five stars - for its patient outcomes in many clinical areas including cardiac care, neurosciences, neurosurgery, stroke care, and sepsis.

The basis for Mercy's accolades was the HealthGrades Hospital Quality in America Study, which is the most comprehensive study of its kind, analyzing more than 41 million Medicare hospitalization records at the nation's approximately 5,000 non-federal hospitals.

According to the HealthGrades study, Mercy Medical Center ranks among the top 10% of the nation's hospitals for overall cardiac services, cardiology services, coronary interventional procedures, neurosciences, neurosurgery and stroke care. Mercy Sioux City ranks number one in Iowa for overall cardiac services, cardiology services, neurosciences and neurosurgery and number two in Iowa for coronary interventional procedures.

Mercy received the Healthgrades Specialty Excellence Award in cardiac care, coronary intervention, neurosciences, neurosurgery, and stroke care.

Mercy has been ranked among the top ten hospitals in Iowa for overall cardiac services for the past 10 years, for cardiology services for the past 8 years in a row, and for treatment of stroke for the past 4 years in a row.

American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer

The cancer care program at Mercy was awarded a full three-year accreditation by the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). In order to meet the exacting standards necessary for approval, Mercy underwent a rigorous evaluation and performance review in 2010. For an oncology program to earn this distinction, they must provide state-of-the-art pretreatment, evaluation, staging, treatment and clinical follow-up for cancer patients. Mercy is the only area hospital to have their cancer care program accredited by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer.

American College of Surgeons (Trauma)

Mercy's regional Level II trauma center continues to hold the prestigious verification of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). ACS program verification attests that Mercy adheres to rigorous standards for excellence in emergency medicine. The highest-ranking Emergency Department in western Iowa is also the only one in the Siouxland region to hold ACS trauma program approval.

The Joint Commission

In 2010, Mercy Medical Center-Sioux City was again awarded national certification as an advanced primary stroke center by the Joint Commission, the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Mercy is the only hospital in the Siouxland region to have earned to Joint Commission's prominent certification as a stroke center. Mercy first earned the "Gold Seal of Approval" for primary stroke care in January 2005. The Joint Commission has since re-certified Mercy as a primary stroke center after another on-site review.

Mercy also achieved accreditation from The Joint Commission for another three years. The Joint Commission's decision is a result of Mercy's proven compliance with nationally recognized health care standards. As part of the accreditation process, a team of health care professionals representing The Joint Commission conducted an on-site survey of Mercy Medical Center. During this visit, the surveyors met with hospital staff, patients and community leaders to determine the organization's commitment to quality standards and health care delivery.

American Stroke Association

In 2009, the American Stroke Association awarded Mercy Medical Center-Sioux City its Get With The Guidelines-Stroke (GWTG-Stroke) Gold Performance Achievement Award. The honor recognizes Mercy's commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of stroke care by ensuring that stroke patients receive treatment according to nationally accepted standards and recommendations. To receive the GWTG-Stroke Gold Performance Achievement Award, Mercy consistently complied for at least one year with the requirements in the GWTG-Stroke program. These include aggressive use of medications like tPA, antithrombotics, anticoagulation therapy, DVT prophylaxis, cholesterol reducing drugs, and smoking cessation. This twelve-month evaluation period is the second in an ongoing self-evaluation by the hospital to continually reach the 85 percent compliance level needed to sustain this award.

Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Iowa

Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield has named Mercy a Blue Distinction Center for Spine Surgery and a Blue Distinction Center for Knee and Hip Replacement in 2010. Blue Distinction is a nationwide program that creates an unprecedented level of healthcare transparency for consumers and providers. Driven by quality, collaboration and affordability, Blue Distinction strengthens consumer engagement and provider partnerships through specialty centers that offer the best practices and standards of care.

AABB Accredited Perioperative Services

Mercy Sioux City is one of just 23 hospitals in the United States to have earned the prestigious accreditation of the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) for perioperative transfusion services. Mercy is also the only medical facility in Iowa, Nebraska, South Dakota, Missouri, Michigan and Illinois to hold the distinction. In fact, the only other hospital to earn such designation in the Upper Midwest is Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

ACR Breast Imaging Center of Excellence

The Mercy Breast Care Center, 330 Dakota Dunes Blvd, North Sioux City, SD, has been designated a Breast Imaging Center of Excellence by the American College of Radiology (ACR). By awarding facilities the status of a Breast Imaging Center of Excellence, the ACR recognizes breast imaging centers that have earned accreditation in mammography, stereotactic breast biopsy, and breast ultrasound (including ultrasound-guided breast biopsy). The Mercy Breast Care Center is the only triple-accredited breast care treatment facility in the Siouxland area.

American College of Cardiology Foundation’s Gold Performance Achievement Award

Mercy Medical Center received the American College of Cardiology Foundation’s NCDR ACTION Registry–GWTG Gold Performance Achievement Award for 2011 – one of only 167 hospitals nationwide to do so. The award recognizes Mercy’s commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of care for heart attack patients, and signifies that Mercy has reached an aggressive goal of treating these patients to standard levels of care as outlined by the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association clinical guidelines and recommendations.