Print    Email
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+)


As Siouxland's leading hospital, Mercy Medical Center provides a wide continuum services to residents of a 33-county region in western Iowa, eastern Nebraska and southeastern South Dakota.

Mercy is home to the region's leading cardiac care program. The Mercy Heart Center brings experienced cardiologists and surgeons, highly trained staff and the latest technology together in a modern, state-of-the-art facility. The Heart Center has received numerous national honors from multiple sources.

Mercy has earned more national recognition for quality patient outcomes than any other hospital in the region. The medical center has, in recent years, earned multiple honors for its leadership and excellence in several clinical areas including cardiac care, orthopedic services, vascular surgery, stroke care and cancer care.  The hospital also records exemplary patient outcomes in general surgery, and offers da Vinci robotic surgery.

Our medical center has a five-star rated stroke program, according to HealthGrades, and the area's only stroke center certified as a Primary Stroke Center by the Joint Commission.

The Dr. Joseph Washburn Oncology and Palliative Care Center at Mercy is the only Siouxland regional healthcare facility that offers a cancer care program approved by the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer.

Mercy also serves as the designated regional Level II trauma center, and provides a vital, lifesaving link to rural areas with Mercy Air Care, the hospital's helicopter ambulance service.

Mercy Medical Services, a partner to the medical center, operates nearly 30 family practice and 12 specialty clinics in Iowa and Nebraska. Additionally, Mercy owns Baum Harmon Mercy Hospital in Primghar, Iowa and Oakland Mercy Hospital in Oakland, Nebraska, and manages Hawarden Community Hospital in Hawarden, Iowa, and Pender Community Hospital in Pender, Nebraska.

©  2014 

Mercy Medical Center Sioux City | 801 Fifth Street, Sioux City Iowa 51102 | 712-279-2010