Mercy Medical Center Sioux City

What is a Level II Trauma Center?

Only a select group of medial centers receive Level II Trauma Center verification from the American College of Surgeons (ACS). Verified trauma centers must meet the essential ACS criteria that ensure trauma care capability and institutional performance.

Mercy's Trauma Center first received the ACS Level II verification in 1998. The Level II status was re-verified in 2004 after a team of ACS reviewers conducted an exhaustive review of patient records, quality improvement efforts and interviews with physicians and staff. Level II re-verification is a major achievement, especially in light of the fact that 40 percent of the hospitals up for re-verification fail to meet ACS standards.

So, what does it take to earn this distinction?

  • 24-hour-a-day commitment by the medical staff, including trauma surgeons, emergency physicians, anesthesiologists, neurosurgeons and orthopedic specialists.
  • Hospital staff committed to trauma, including staff in emergency, surgery, respiratory therapy, laboratory, radiology, critical care, nursing, pastoral care and rehabilitation.
  • Availability of numerous clinical resources such as cardiothoracic surgery; internal medicine; neurosurgery; ophthalmic, maxillofacial and plastic surgery; pediatrics; radiological specialties and many others.
  • Rapid air transportation via Mercy Air Care.
  • Available consultation to rural areas via a 24-hour referral line.
  • Leadership in trauma education.